LCD Disassembly pics! Finally!

So I’ve finally gotten around to taking some pictures of my disassembled LCD monitor. Removing the plastic case took forever…every little plastic snap had to be removed. Needless to say I was quite relieved when I plugged it in after removing the case and it still worked smile

I have a problem though…I’ve removed the case and such, but I’m not sure where to go from here. There are various ribbon cables attached to a large central box in the middle as you can see in my pics, but what do I remove? There are screws holding down that central box that I removed, but I was still unable to pull the box out. I think its secured to a side steel panel, also in my pics. Where do I disconnect the ribbon cables from?

I’ve gotten it to a stage where I can see the guts, but I don’t know what to do with them.

Anyways, hope you enjoy and make use of the pics…once someone helps me out with what to do from here I’ll put up the final pics of disassembly.

~rbedi100

2 Responses to “LCD Disassembly pics! Finally!”

  1. matt Says:

    Looked at your monitor pics. First thing remove the controll panel from the front of the panel (2 screws) next remove the large c shaped plate adjacenet to the main module inclosure. By holding the control panel up you can slide it right off. Next take all the screws loose from around the ac plug and data connector plugs. Next remove the backlight supply plugs ( 4 white connectors at the side and top of the metel box) Next take out the screws around the perimeter of the box. Now gently slide the box upward. As you do this take a small screew driver and push the ac and data plugs downward. They are grooved into the box but will slide off. If we get this far you will find the main data board and power supply boards screwed to the chassis. The data ribbons have a brown or white bar across them at the connection it is hinged to the board connector so dont try to pull it off, just swing it up!, gently pop these upward and the ribbon will slid out. This is if you want to remove the boards from the chassis!
    Good Luck!

    • rbedi100 Says:

      Hi Matt,
      Thanks for the help man – I was able to get rid of the C shaped plate – I’ll follow your instructions from there. But what I really am struggling with is getting rid of the metal frame holding all the layers of the monitor together – there are these tiny tabs alongside the edge, and I need to pry them out with my finger – I’ve heard that if I use a screwdriver, it will tear the ribbon cables that are located directly underneath it. Any ideas on how to best go about this? – I’ve been going at it for quite a while now.

      Thanks again,
      Rishi (rbedi100)

Leave a Reply

