Argh…FFC Issues

Well…I was just getting ready to take apart my Sony SDM-S81 18″ LCD monitor and I was just making one last internet search for potential problems. I found problems all right…apparently one circuit board is connected with no ribbon cable at all – just the connectors directly attached.

http://www.lumenlab.com/forums/index.php?showtopic=26823

I can’t solder that small (read: can’t solder for my life) , and anyways its probably not worth it for an old half-working monitor. I plan to take it apart anyways, to get a feel for ripping apart expensive electronic devices 🙂 Looking for a new monitor…preferably less that $150. Used is fine…just need to find something. Pics of no-good LCD soon…hopefully.

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “Argh…FFC Issues”

  1. Adam Says:

    With the right tools, you can solder that finely.

    If you put a lot of liquid flux over it when soldering the solder will only go to the pins.

    It’s called drag soldering, you can youtube it.

  2. rbedi100 Says:

    Hi Adam,
    Thanks for the info – I’ll look into it! I would still need the necessary connectors though…and the correct ribbon cable.
    Thx again,
    rbedi100

Leave a Reply

